The DMCA And Me

Contributing to what is a somewhat shitty day, my blog was frozen this morning because of another DMCA violation.  This is my second violation – the first was for a leaked Toni Braxton track – and was for posting a Cahill remix of Mariah Carey’s “Obsessed.”

In hindsight, I probably shouldn’t have posted Toni track.  It was a leak (although fully completed) and was months (it turns out) away from release.

In contrast, the remixes of “Obsessed” are not really available commercially and I therefore have fewer regrets (if any) about posting one of them.

While I don’t pretend to fully understand the music industry, I do know that there is a high demand for remixes that are often only distributed to DJs and sold at a premium price.  When these remixes are unavailable for mass, commercial purchase, a black market is going to form and thrive to meet the fans’ desires.  Basic economics.

In the post-CD, digital era we are now in, I cannot understand the labels’ apparent refusal to sell such remixes through sites like Amazon.com or the iTunes store.  With no physical distribution costs and minimal (any?) overhead, making more songs available for sale seems like a win-win situation. There may be legitimate legal or contractual reasons that prevent some labels from distributing these remixes but we know it can be done: Cascada’s great summertime hit, “Evacuate The Dancefloor”, just hit the iTunes store with a whooping 9 remixes.  Well done, guys.

I have been warned that if I receive “multiple” DMCA violations, the blog will be “suspended” – for how long, I do not know. I do not understand the rhyme or reason behind which songs are used to enforce the DMCA or I would try to avoid posting such targets. In the meantime, I’ll try to just keep on doin’ what I’m doin’.

-Mark

One Response to The DMCA And Me

  1. Sean says:

    The promo-only remix mentality has plagued the industry (and me) for years. Keep on fightin’ the powers that be, Mark.

Leave a Reply

