My Current Desktop

cimg2552

Taken at the Butterfly Conservatory in Niagara Falls, Canada. Click pic to enlarge. This looks like a Monarch but I know there’s a species that has very similar markings to Monarchs, so I’ll refrain from labeling.

When we were kids, my brother and I would collect monarch caterpillars from milkweed growing in the cornfield at the edge of our yard and place them in mason jars with plant life to feed on and perforated tops for air. The caterpillars would eventually attach their cocoons to the roof of the jar and transform into butterflies, before we would release them back to the wild. I’d want my son to have a childhood like that.

Leave a Reply

