Rescuing Someone From The Subway Tracks, New York Style

chad-lindsey-crop

Fred R. Conrad/NYT

The Times has a rather amusing profile of a charmingly “New York style” subway rescue.

[Chad] Lindsey said he sensed a train was approaching, because the platform was crowded. “I dropped my bag and jumped down there. I tried to wake him up,” he said. “He probably had a massive concussion at that point. I jumped down there and he just wouldn’t wake up, and he was bleeding all over the place.”

He looked back up at the people on the platform. “I yelled, ‘Contact the station agent and call the police!’ which I think is hilarious because I don’t think I ever said ‘station agent’ before in my life. What am I, on ‘24’?”

And what do you do after you rescue an unconscious man from the subway? Take the next train without even having the paramedics clean the stranger’s blood off of you, of course.

And Mr. Lindsey did just that – returning to the anonymous sea of people that is New York and escaping the notice of the police, the “station agent,” or the paramedics; he remained anonymous until a friend revealed his identity. “It was quite a New York day,” Mr. Lindsey said. Yes, indeed.

Source: Leap to Track. Rescue Man. Clamber Up. Catch a Train. (NYT)

2 Responses to Rescuing Someone From The Subway Tracks, New York Style

  1. […] Lindsey Speaks to Rachel Maddow Chad Lindsey, the latest NYC subway hero that I wrote about here, spoke with Rachel Maddow last night. Rumor has it that Chad plays on our […]

Leave a Reply

