New Music: “Sweetheart” Compilation

If you’ve been in a Starbucks lately, you’ve probably noticed that they’re pushing another one of their “Sweetheart” compilation albums.  What you may not have noticed is that this one is actually a pretty great collection of covers:

1. Death Cab for Cutie – Love Song
2. Katy Perry – Black and Gold (Sam Sparro Cover)
3. DeVotchKa – Hot Burrito #1 (I’m Your Toy)
4. Department of Eagles – Love Me
5. Jessica Lea Mayfield – Words of Love
6. Ben Bridwell – Your Love Is Forever
7. Kate Tucker – I’m on Fire
8. Rogue Wave – Maps
9. A.C. Newman (of the New Pornographers) – Take on Me (A-Ha Cover)
10. Jem – Yellow (Coldplay Cover)
11. Richard Hawley – Early Morning Rain
12. Daniel Martin Moore – I Hear Music
13. She & Him – I Put a Spell on You
14. Lila Downs – My One and Only Love

I think the three linked above are my favorites; Jem‘s piano ballad version of “Yellow” is particularly beautiful and Katy Perry and A.C. Newman‘s covers are surprisingly successful.  She & Him‘s cover of “I Put A Spell On You,” most associated with Nina Simone, was a bit of a disappointment or I would have posted that, too.


Buy at any Starbucks location, their online store, or on iTunes.


One Response to New Music: “Sweetheart” Compilation

  1. Sean says:

    Thanks for posting — I might have to pick this up. I like the sound of “Love Song,” “I’m On Fire” and “Maps,” too, based on the iTunes samples…

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: