Music Spotlight: Nina Simone

ninaArguably one of music’s most memorable voices, Nina Simone ironically only began singing to get a job she thought was for just a piano player (she was classically trained). Yadda, yadda, yadda, and we have the amazing voice of Ms. Simone singing as passionately about racism and sexism as she does heartbreak.  Truly one-of-a-kind. That said, Nina’s never been one of those artists for whom I can consume of all her songs with equal ferocity but the tracks of her’s that I do love, I really, really, really love and would be lost without them on my iPod.

My all-time favorite tracks and and the must-haves for any collection:

Wild Is The Wind from Nina Simone’s Finest Hour.  (The “love me, love me, love me” portion of this was featured in the “Revolutionary Road” trailer.)

Seems I’m Never Tired of You from The Essential Nina Simone. (I think this is one of the most beautiful songs in my entire music collection.)

My Man’s Gone from Nina Simone Sings The Blues. (Mmm… heartache.)

“Feeling Good” clearly belongs on this list but since it is so ubiquitous (you should already own it!), I’ll give you this cover by Muse, which is surprisingly good:

Muse – Feeling Good (Nina Simone Cover)

Leave a Reply

