2008’s Top 25 Most Played Songs of 2008

No, that’s not redundant: it’s the result of me combing my iTunes for my most played songs of 2008 but limited to songs I downloaded in 2008 (click to enlarge):

2008 Top 25

2008 Top 25

There are some surprises there, like the Andrew Suvalsky track, which my shuffle feature must have a preference for, and “Kingdom of Doom” by The Good, The Bad, and the Queen – I don’t think I could tell you anything about that song if I tried. No surprise, however, that Kylie’s X was the only album to score multiple appearances.

Following is a harder and slightly faster remix of Madonna’s “4 Minutes,” as seen above: 4 Minutes (Distortion Edit) – Madonna.

Also check out Sophie Ellis-Bextor’s “Heartbreak Make Me A Dancer.” This banging track is suspected to be the first single from Sophie’s upcoming album, which she keeps pushing back for some lame reason (childbearing) or another. It was produced by the Freemasons, favorites of mine.

In the non-dance category is the equally beautiful and moving cover of “Let It Be” by Carol Woods and Timothy T. Mitchum for Julie Taymor’s 2007 film, Across the Universe. Taymor claimed that the vast majority of the music for the soundtrack was recorded during the filming of the individual scenes, not in a sound studio, which I think is a rather dubious claim but I’ll forgive her because God knows I love me some gospel choir doing my backing vocals. Mmm!

Madonna – 4 Minutes (Distortion Edit)

Sophie Ellis-Bextor – Heartbreak Make Me A Dancer

Carol Woods & Timothy T. Mitchum – Let It Be

One Response to 2008’s Top 25 Most Played Songs of 2008

  1. […] George Michael – As (ft. Mary J. Blige; Stevie Wonder cover).  I wasn’t familiar with the Stevie Wonder original when I came across this version but I still think I prefer this one more: I really like Mary J.’s voice in this (it’s kinda rough!) and it’s got a gospel choir doing backing vocals!  Woot! […]

Leave a Reply

